CFA UK recognises Sunday Times, Philip Coggan and Merryn Somerset Webb in our annual journalism awards

Thursday 14 January 2016

The CFA Society of the UK (CFA UK) is delighted to announce the winners of its annual Journalism Awards.

The Sunday Times is the society’s Publication of the Year for 2016. The award goes to the publication that has made the most significant overall contribution to the advancement of investor education over the past 12 months.

In addition, Philip Coggan, Buttonwood Columnist & Capital Markets Editor at The Economist wins Journalist of the Year 2016. His piece: What’s wrong with finance? is deemed to be the individual article that best advanced investor education by virtue of its relevance, clarity and content.

Mark Atherton, Personal Finance Correspondent at The Times is highly commended for his piece: Short-term thinking may damage your wealth. The Society’s Fellows and Board ranked a shortlist of five leading submissions on an anonymous basis to determine the winner.

Merryn Somerset Webb, Columnist at FT Money, is named the winner of CFA UK’s Ethical & Professional Standards Award. The award recognises the journalist who has done most to advocate high standards of ethical and professional behaviour in the investment sector in the past year. She was particularly commended for her coverage of topics such as fees, active vs passive and disruption in investment management.

The Publication of the Year and the Journalist of the Year awards are determined by reviews of multiple, anonymised submissions from leading national and investment publications. The winner of the award for promotion of ethical and professional standards is selected from a shortlist developed for the Society’s Marketing and Communications Committee.

Will Goodhart, Chief Executive of CFA UK says:

'In a world beset by financial bear traps and a high cost of advice, the media plays a crucial role in helping to educate the public and hold our profession to account. The journalists and publications that we recognise today have all played a meaningful role in helping us bridge the gap between the investment profession and the public and it gives us great pleasure to note their contribution with these awards. We congratulate all of our award winners and thank all of those publications that took part.'