CFA UK announces winners of its annual Journalism Awards

Wednesday 27 June 2018


27 June 2018 – The CFA Society of the UK (CFA UK) is delighted to announce the winners of its 2018 annual Journalism Awards.

Investment & Pensions Europe (IPE) is the society’s Publication of the Year for 2018. This award goes to the publication that has made the most significant overall contribution to the advancement of investor education over the past 12 months.

Madison Marriage, former Asset Management Correspondent at the Financial Times, now Accounting and Tax Correspondent, wins Journalist of the Year. Her piece: Fund manager performance fees under attack was thought to be the individual article that best advanced investor education by virtue of its relevance, clarity and content.

Chris Newlands, Editor at Financial News is named the winner of CFA UK’s Ethical and Professional Standards Award. The award recognises the journalist who has done most to advocate high standards of ethical and professional behaviour in the investment sector. He was particularly commended for his coverage of the FCA shake-up and its implications for asset managers, the lack of diversity in the industry and how diversity imbalance has contributed to financial scandals.

Following recommendations by the judging panel two new categories were introduced to recognise emerging talent and trade journalists in this year’s awards.

Trade Journalist of the Year is awarded to Dan Jones for his insights in his article entitled The future of multi-asset. Complex but convenient?. This piece was published in Money Management magazine and online at

New Journalist of the Year, celebrating up-and-coming talent in financial journalism, is awarded to Funds Europe’s Mark Latham. His article Killling the goose that laid the golden egg about the impact of Brexit on asset management was judged to be the most engaging and informative submission in this category.

The awards are determined by reviews of multiple, anonymised submissions from leading national and investment publications. The winners of the awards are selected by CFA UK’s Marketing and Communications and Ethics Committees.

The judging panel comprises of: Asad Ali, CFA; Jean-Paul Carbonnier, CFA; Vishrut Chatrath, IMC; David Clarke, CFA; Tajinder Dhillon, CFA; Liam Gilchrist, CFA; Annabel Gillard, CFA; James Irving, CFA Weiyen Hung, CFA; Joe McGann, CFA; Agha Ali Murtaza, CFA and Zola Turbish, IMC.

The awards were presented on 27 June 2018 at the CFA UK Summer Reception, held at The Sky Bar, Grange St Paul’s, London.

Says Will Goodhart, chief executive of CFA UK: ‘CFA UK’s mission is to make sure that the investment profession operates in its clients’ best interests. The media plays a hugely important role in helping the sector to share best practices and stay on top of developing trends. In addition – and perhaps above all – the journalists that cover our sector perform an invaluable function in holding us to account and challenging us. The award winners that we celebrate this evening have demonstrated a high standard of excellence in both respects. We’re grateful for the work that they do and pleased to have an opportunity to recognize their achievements.’




Notes to editors:

Please find images from the award ceremony here

For further information, please contact Ogilvy Public Relations:


About CFA UK

Part of the worldwide network of member societies of CFA Institute, CFA UK represents the interests of 11,600 investment professionals in the UK.