CFA UK Journalism Awards 2019 winners announced

Wednesday 19 June 2019

The CFA Society of the UK (CFA UK) is delighted to announce the winners of its 2019 Journalism Awards.  

The awards highlights contribution to the advancement of investor education through journalism. Launched in 2012, the awards celebrate articles that highlight ethical and professional standards in the UK investment sector. 

Shares Magazine is the society’s Publication of the Year for 2019. This award goes to the publication that the judges thought has made the most significant overall contribution to the advancement of investor education over the past 12 months. 

Khalid Azizuddin, Journalist at Responsible Investor wins Journalist of the Year. His piece: Investors still bullish on Chinese surveillance stock despite human rights concerns focused on the core CFA Program value of ethics - asking the question directly of whether we should be investing in countries where human rights abuses are as normal as economic growth.

Becky Pritchard, formerly People Editor at Financial News  and now a freelance journalist, is named the winner of CFA UK’s Ethical and Professional Standards Award. The award recognises the journalist who has done most to advocate high standards of ethical and professional behaviour in the investment sector. She was particularly commended for her sensitive interview handling in her Financial News article City finds it is easy to silence women with NDAs.

Trade Journalist of the Year is awarded to Mark Latham for his insights in his article entitled The Geneva conversation This piece was published in Funds Europe and explores some of the headaches of Brexit from the European perspective.

New Journalist of the Year, celebrating up-and-coming talent in financial journalism, is awarded to Investors Chronicle’s Harriet Clarfelt. Her article Income majors 2018 analysing public investing was judged to be the most engaging and informative submission in this category.

Following recommendations by the judging panel a new category was introduced to recognise emerging journalists covering ESG content in this year’s awards. This was a closely fought category with lots of high-quality entries and so the judges took the decision to award a highly commended entry in this category as well as a winner.
The highly commended entry was from Jassmyn Goh writing for Expert Investor. Her article Selectors in the dark on ESG criteria was praised for its effective investigative journalism for analysts and investors - highlighting a structural question and answer that we shouldn't take for granted.

The ESG Journalist of the Year winner is Vibeka Mair, Senior Reporter Responsible Investor, whose article Central banks and green finance: A policy revolution is taking place provided a good account of how the most important institutions are tackling the most important issue facing the planet.

The awards are determined by reviews of multiple, anonymised submissions from leading national and investment publications. The winners of the awards are selected by CFA UK’s Journalism Awards judging panel.

The judging panel this year was: Robin Black, CFA, Edward Caplin, ASIP, David Clarke, CFA, Laura Fauvel, CFA, Marisa Virseda, CFA and Yanrong Wang, CFA.

The awards were presented on 19 June 2019 at the CFA UK Summer Reception, held at The Leonardo Royal Hotel, London.

Notes to editors: 

For further information, please contact Ogilvy: 


About CFA UK

Part of the worldwide network of member societies of CFA Institute, CFA UK represents the interests of 11,600 investment professionals in the UK.