CFA UK Announces Winners of the 2023 Journalism Awards

Tuesday 13 June 2023

London, 13 June 2023 - The CFA Society of the UK (CFA UK) is delighted to announce the winners of its 2023 Journalism Awards.

These awards recognise the remarkable contributions made by journalists towards advancing investor education and promoting ethical and professional standards in the UK investment sector.

Andrew Whiffin of Financial Times won the National Journalist of the Year Award for his article titled “Why is the UK stock market so cheap?”. The article looks at why the UK stock market is lagging behind international peers.

Alex Newman of Investors Chronicle won the Trade Journalist of the Year Award for his article titled “Navigating the storm”, where he illustrates the long-term performance of equities as an investment tool.

Emmy Hawker of ESG Investor won the Inclusion & Diversity Award for her article titled “On an equal footing”, where she highlights why asset owners want to see better representation in the workplace.

Adrian Murdoch of Capital Monitor won the ESG, Climate and Sustainable Investing Award for his article titled “Big stakes in polluters belie Vanguard’s climate statements”. The article highlights a discrepancy between the sustainability claims and actions of Vanguard, emphasising the importance of holding the company accountable for its public statements and commitments.

In addition to this, Carlo Svaluto Moreolo and Tjibbe Hoekstra of Investments & Pensions Europe (IPE) received a highly commended mention for the ESG, Climate and Sustainable Investment Award category for their article titled “ESG: Spotlight falls on ESG executive pay incentives”.

The awards were determined by reviews of multiple anonymised submissions from leading national and investment publications. The CFA UK Journalism Awards judging panel consisted of volunteers from the CFA UK membership.

Altaf Kassam, Managing Director, EMEA Head of Investment Strategy & Research, State Street Global Advisors, and member of 2023 judging panel said; “This was my first time judging and I was very impressed with the quality of submissions on the whole. I scored many pieces at or near maximum score, being impressed by their thoroughness, depth and relevance.”

Jane Fuller, Jane Fuller, Fellow of CFA UK and a former Financial Editor of the Financial Times, added; “The articles that impressed contained original research, thorough reporting of expert views, incisive analysis and lucid writing. The standout articles had an edge: they tackled important and sensitive issues, and did not pull their punches.”

The judging panel for this year’s Journalism Awards included:


  • Altaf Kassam, CFA
  • Christopher Ware, CFA
  • James MacLeod-Nairn
  • Jane Fuller, FSIP


About CFA UK

CFA UK represents the interests of over 12,000 investment professionals in the United Kingdom as part of the global network of member societies of CFA Institute. Committed to fostering the highest standards of ethics, education, and professional excellence, CFA UK strives to enhance the integrity and expertise of the investment profession.


For more information:

Megan Lloyd